The Eight Limbs of Yoga Explained

Mukha Yoga
4 min readOct 18, 2022

In Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path of yoga is called ashtanga, which translates to “eight limbs.” Within this structure, guidelines are offered which include, and extend beyond the physical practice. The first four limbs of the eightfold path focus on fine tuning our personalities, actions and physical bodies to develop energetic awareness. The final four limbs focus on the senses and achieving deep meditative and fulfilled states of being.

What are the eight limbs of yoga?

1) Yama (moral conduct)

Mukha Yoga

Mukha Yoga is committed to connecting people to yoga so that we can connect with each other, our community, and our earth to be in a place of balance.